Known in 1880 as the American promenade, it is here in 1916 that the building nowadays known as the Museum of Beaux Arts was built. A little while later it was acquired by Pascual Baburizza - from Balkan descent – and this historic building was named in his honor. It proudly has one of the best views in the city and it is one of the best locations from where to watch the New Year’s celebrations at sea.
This palace is home to the present Museum of Beaux Arts and it was built in 1916 for the Zanelli family. Its name honors its second owner, the Croatian businessman Pascual Baburizza who acquired it in 1925. The mansion was converted into a museum in 1971 and in 1979 it was declared a historic monument.
The Elevators of Valparaíso
These elevators are historic monuments that add a unique cultural significance to the city. It was in 1883 that it was decided to create a means of transport to make movement easier for the inhabitants of this city of hills. There are currently 16 in operation and they have all been declared national monuments. In Justicia Square, you can take El Peral elevator which connects to the Yugoslav Promenade; then enjoy an incredible view, and just a few steps away is our hotel.
This is just one of the 45 hills in Valparaíso, Chile’s primary port. The Alegre Hill is one of the most picturesque in the city, with its walls full of color lining each one of the streets. Its name comes from the flower displays that adorned the houses here in the 19th century.